Day 75 – spoooooooooorts

If you haven’t realized by now, I am crazy about sports! I am up for any kind of sport and get really cranky when I don’t get to move excessively for more than three days. But since I had to undergo a pretty serious knee-surgery about a year ago, my choices are more limited now. That also means that I can’t practice with Madrid’s Lacrosse team (as I would love to), but rather have to spend several evenings a week alone in the gym. Since I am more of a team sport kind of person, I became less and less motivated during the last few months and I will – unfortunately – pay for it.

Yesterday I had a physical therapy session and it was quite an eye-opener. My therapist wasn’t very happy, to say the least, about the nonexistent muscles in my right thigh. It goes without saying that she ‘tortured’ me with lengthy exercises, which I performed without lamenting BECAUSE she told me that if I didn’t build up enough muscle, I would’t be able to go snowboarding this season. That would mean I would have to go a SECOND season without shredding down a snow-covered mountain. IMPOSSIBLE!!!

And now comes the good part: Today I went for a ten-minute run. Yes, just ten minutes, but I loved every minute of it! My therapist recommended I slowly worked my way back up – very slowly, in order to avoid further damage to my knee. And that’s what I’m gonna do, if that means I can snowboard this season. See you running at Retiro :)

dsc_3341.jpg

Leave a comment